Topographics

I was inspired by Tim Hetherington’s “Places” shots, which feature photographs of urban landscapes taken from a high viewpoint. To make my imagery contrast with his I decided to take my photos from a low viewpoint to create similarly eye-catching effects. I wanted this photo to highlight the intricate insides of the wing like structure by Coventry’s Transport Museum, similarly to Jan Groovers photography, which focuses on still life and detail.

I was inspired by The Bechers’ images, which consist of multiple photographs of the same or similar buildings placed next to one another from different viewpoints. In this photo I used two images of two structures (a statue and the arches by Coventry Transport Museum), which are situated close to one another. I took both photos from a low viewpoint. I then created a sort of optical illusion by repeating and flipping the same images to create a pattern. I also converted it to black and white like The Bechers’ photographs.

I was inspired by The Bechers’ photography which include photos of buildings, industrial sites ect. Therefore, I decided to take a photo of the Cathedral. I darkened the photo to emphasise the gothic, olden structure and kept it in colour unlike the majority of The Bechers’ works, which are black and white.

I wanted to highlight the texture of the statues in this photograph similarly to some of Edward Westons’ photographs and did so by converting the statues to black and white and creating a frame of colours. I also darkened the statues to make them more eye catching and to enhance their rough texture.  The contrast between the soft border and dark centre I think makes the statues stand out more.

I was inspired by Tim Hetherington’s “Place” shots, which feature photographs of urban landscapes taken from a high viewpoint. To make my imagery contrast with his I decided to take my photos from a low viewpoint in all of the following photographs. I wanted to focus and emphasis the texture of this building after being inspired by Edward Westons’ highly detailed photographs of architecture, walls and textures.

Photographs © Sophie Moet

Leave a Reply

