Francesca Woodman

Francesca Woodman was an American photographer best known for her black and white images of herself and other females. Before her suicide at 22 in 1981, Francesca Woodman took 800 striking pictures: mostly of herself, nude, in crumbling rooms.

Francesca Woodman

Francesca Woodman

Francesca Woodman

I find these images quietly disturbing yet beautiful. I love how Woodman often appears as a blur of movement or a half-hidden figure, someone who appears to be constantly trying to escape or hide. This could maybe seen as a sign of some underlying yearning of Woodman to run away from herself or life itself (who knows). Nevertheless, I believe the end result is captivating. Now I may contradict myself here but I believe these photographs are not self-portraiture, but a series of stills from a continuous performance in which Woodman plays with the notion of the self, disguising, transforming and defacing her own body. I believe the photos are exploring both the mundane and the surreal found in life at which Woodman has become a commodity.  The surreal is found in the blurred ghostly nude bodies and the mundane is the clinical settings of empty rooms with peeling wallpaper. I want to take photographs similar to Woodman of myself and other females.

Leave a Reply

