Pia-Pia-Pia-Piano

My friend and I were strolling round the Ellen Terry Building when Katie pounced on her favourite thing in the world…a grand piano. Once she began playing I thought why not take some photographs. The practice room is often filled with light and the windows are beautiful so I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to experiment with capturing different modes of lighting my subject with this immense amount of natural light source.  I used my digital pinhole camera, and stood facing the light and the windows, creating dark silhouettes and darkening my subject, highlighting only parts of the piano and some of Katie’s face. I then stood in front of the windows lighting up my subject and the piano. I think I prefer the darker photographs though.  Admittedly I could have experimented more but I was too busy enjoying Katie jamming! And laughing at this random dude who was demanding what Katie should play. Random.

All Photography © Sophie Moet

 

Leave a Reply

