Tom Horton

I began researching nightlife photographers and came across Tom Horton a professional photographer based in Birmingham. Let me tell you, his portfolio is anything but lacking! Each set of images of nightlife, taken at different venues are slightly different, breaking away from the usual repetitive images taken in clubs.  Horton uses light well. I particularly like the images where strobe lights and lights from the club disrupt the portraits. The colours are vibrant and garish, I don’t know why but the images don’t make me think of venues in the U.K, rather ones on Sunset Boulevard! I’d like to experiment with this crisp, vivid style of photographing nightlife.

Leave a Reply

