Johnny’s Bird

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Johnny’s Bird showcases the work of photographer Moni Haworth. I was first introduced to Johnny’s Bird when my lecturer thought I would enjoy the images (that was over 5 months ago). A month or so later, when I began thinking about the summer task I decided to Google ‘Johnny’s Bird’. Put simply, I’ve been hooked ever since, have followed the website religiously and the models who grace Johnny’s Bird.

Haworth’s images possess a seedy, grunge aesthetic reminiscent to the photography of Nan Goldin, something I adore. Her work is extremely addictive and I’ve found myself as of late spending hours scrolling through her photo sets! Spontaneous, stylish and effortlessly cool I’ve become infatuated with Johnny’s Bird and hope to create similar images.

Haworth’s photo sets create the feeling that we are entering the lives of these impossibly pretty and unique creatures for the day. Following their daily activities, their relationships, and their movements, their interests and ultimately documenting their life, which is all seen through the stylish lens of Haworth’s perspective. Her models, mainly female (linking with the other photographers I’ve researched) are beautiful with an edge. They are all unique in their own way with distinct features and styles. For me each possesses a degree of physical perfection all merit to their individuality and quirkiness. This reminded me of how Humbert Humbert describes nymphets in Lolita:

‘A normal man given a group photograph of school girls or Girl Scouts and asked to point out the comeliest one will not necessarily choose the nymphet among them. You have to be an artist and a madman, a creature of infinite melancholy, with a bubble of hot poison in your loins and a super-voluptuous flame permanently aglow in your subtle spine (oh, how you have to cringe and hide!), in order to discern at once, by ineffable signs-the slightly feline outline of a cheekbone, the slenderness of a downy limb, and other indices which despair and shame and tears of tenderness forbid me to tabulate-the little deadly demon among the wholesome children; she stands unrecognized by them and unconscious herself of her fantastic power’

The females presented on Johnny’s Bird, for me are nymphet-esque. They are special. The models appear younger than their actual age, flaunting clear complexions, defined cheekbones, thin limbs and effortless beauty. This raw attractiveness is then given a rocky edge: doc martins, black lipstick and loose shirts are the norm and only enhance to their appeal.

Dasha Love, a 23-year-old Russian born photographer and Margaux Lonnberg, a 25-year-old French blogger, are two of my favourites. Dasha Love is featured a lot on Johnny’s Bird. Often seen on her skateboard, captured mid movement or with grazed knees, Dasha’s photo sets always exude with personality and adventure as well as her natural prettiness. With long dusty blonde hair, pale skin and petit frame Dasha could easily pass for a 15-year-old schoolgirl. Lolita-esque? I think so.

Margaux Lonnberg is usually seen with her equally as pretty boyfriend, floating around Paris or smoking her beloved cigarettes, in her photo sets. Lonnberg’s look is extremely unique and envious. With her trademark tanned skin set against her tumbling bleach blonde hair, matching platinum eyebrows and clear blue eyes, Lonnberg’s beauty is hauntingly striking. Her skeletal figure decorated with cursive tattoos, particularly on her arms, is awe-inspiring and like nothing I’ve encountered before. Lonnberg possesses this disheveled casual appeal, a carefree attitude that oozes through her images and is reflected through her fashion sense. Loose jersey shirts, light denim jeans and white flowing dresses, made more distinct hanging over her bronzed skin.

It seems I’m becoming obsessed with blondes; I must have this unconscious desire for girls who resemble the Lisbon sisters! Anyway, after looking through Johnny’s Bird, I want to apply this rocky edge to my images of females but still maintain the beauty and softness featured in the other photographer’s works I’ve researched.

Leave a Reply

