On The Road

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” 
Jack Kerouac, On the Road.

I love On The Road by Jack Kerouac. My father had the book, which I only discovered after his death. Upon organising, collecting and discarding my deceased fathers’ belongings I stumbled upon On The Road in one of his boxes. It was strange. I always loved the book but we had never discussed our interests so I had no idea. In fact, when looking through my fathers things, it seemed we had many similar interests. Shame. The quote above and the word ‘burn’ have always meant something to me. When flicking through the pages of the book which was my fathers, some of the paragraphs had been highlighted, part of this quote being one. I hope to photograph it, I just need to find the book!

Leave a Reply

