Exhibition and Physical Artefact

Today, I went to Fargo, where our 2013 Picbod exhibition will be held, to start on my physical artefact. I wanted to create a collage of all the images of myself and various tribes, both past and present. With a large collage, I felt the use of colour schemes would create points of interest within the piece rather then creating a space where the audience would have to view the images individually. As the images are some what generic, after all their only documents of various nights out with friends, strangers and ex-lovers, I wanted the collage to be seen as one image.  Therefore, viewing them individually was something I wanted instantly eliminated and wanted to form one installation, which I feel I could emphasize and pull off quite well with a collage.

My initial plan was to stick the images directly onto the wall of the exhibition space, using images of previous sequences of the collage as a template to follow.  I used double sided tape and began creating a part of my collage. However, due to the paper being so thin, it began to curl at the edges. Ideally I wanted the images to appear flat, and this added texture, which made the images extremely difficult to view whilst also disturbing the style of what a collage, should be (images overlapping, random and flat!) Therefore, I decided to buy some large sheets of card, two A1 pieces, which I would then use as a base for my collage. This would also allow me to complete it at home ready for the morning, rather then struggle in the space and time allowed at Fargo.

At home, I began my collage. I taped the two pieces of thick white card together and placed my images onto it, to form a sequence, focusing on similar colour schemes that arise from the collection. To draw the viewers’ eye towards the collage more, I placed images with warm tones such as red, pink and orange, in the centre of the collage. I placed cooler toned images, such as the disposables, which exude a blue tint, around the edges, sweeping the point of focus diagonally across the piece.  I then lined the collage with dark images to create somewhat of a frame. At a distance the eye just focuses on the separate colours within the piece but my audience will also be able to view the piece very closely. This allows them to inspect certain images that draw them in to discover what is really going on and draw conclusions of the overall image.

Laying Out Collage

Laying Out Collage

Laying Out Collage

Laying Out Collage

In terms of reflecting this idea of ‘tribe’ in my collage I created a circular timescale, starting from the bottom left and working round.  It starts with images of me and my ex boyfriend, then leads onto images of strangers, some of which have become friends, to images of friends. Throughout the collage there are images of me, showing a variety of emotions, as do the re-occurring subjects in the piece. The use of self-portraits I feel link all the characters together quite effectively. As mentioned in a previous post the common cycle of nights out are feel sad, get drunk, feel happy, feel sad again which was something I also wanted to reflect in my collage through including images of different tones and emotions. Drunkenness, boredom, happiness and sadness circulate around the collage again emphasizing this circular motion of a timescale and different tribes.

Collage

Collage

Collage

Collage

Collage

Collage

Collage

Collage

Collage

Collage

Viewing the piece as one image is very effective and creates a blur of all the tribes I’ve been a part of. The struggle between recognising those who are strangers with those who are friends was intentional as the once strangers have since become friends, forming a new tribe. The images which show varying emotions within tribe and myself also reflects the journey I’ve been on and feelings we all share. As this is a personal piece, I feel including images of myself being sick or crying could be relatable to other people, as we’ve all been there at some point.  My physical artefact differs slightly in terms of narrative. In the physical artefact I’ve mixed images from different nights out and time periods, not massively but still. In the physical artefact, being a collage I wanted to create groups of colour as opposed to a strict timescale. However, when making my digital artefact mixing all the images didn’t work for me. Nonetheless, both portray my ‘tribe’ but it made me realise how digital and physical artefacts need to be rendered and altered to make them work.

Overall, I feel having created a collage for my physical artefact has worked really well. As the images are very small upon close inspection, I will also include 6×4 prints of selected images in the collage and others that do not appear. I will group these images together using clips that I will attach to string, or I will put them in envelopes and attach the envelopes to the wall. This will allow the audience to see higher quality versions of the images within the piece whilst also creating an element of interaction between the viewer and my piece. They can physically handle the images and flick through them as they wish, which I think is always a positive when viewing an exhibition.

Leave a Reply

