Personal Project, Dark Lens Studio

For my 252MC Digital Media module we were asked to create images that capture, Work, Rest and Play, in relation to digital media and technology.

For my ‘Play’ photo set I wanted to explore ideas surrounding the validity of images and how far digitalisation and technology can transform images. Editing software such as Photoshop is fun and used by many to create really striking, good-humoured images. Some even use Photoshop to place their faces alongside their celebrity crush! It’s playful and fun! However, as the awareness of image editing has risen, people’s trust has fallen. And is it any wonder? Women in advertisements often appear inhuman and artificial whilst a whole new realm of celebrity has formed in modern times for girls who appear like living dolls!

Taking all this into consideration I created a set of photographs of a human female. I then made her appear artificial like a doll or mannequin through make up, costume and most importantly image editing.  I edited the photographs in Photoshop, airbrushed the skin heavily, shred inches off the waistline and even applied lines around the models joints to make the body resemble that of a Barbie. And so these images are meant to conjure ideas of artificial intelligence, the power of editing whilst also reflecting this new cult of doll like girls, an Internet phenomenon in recent times.

I created the set of images at Dark Lens Studios and led the photo shoot alone. I found it quite difficult instructing the model how to pose but as the photo shoot continued I became more relaxed and comfortable in telling her what to do. Leading this photo shoot was a challenge and made me realise the importance of being able to communicate clearly with the model in order to create good images. I showed the model some of the images as we were shooting in order for her to see what she looked like and to maybe gage other ideas from her. I liked collaborating with the model and sharing ideas, it made the experience more informative and furthered my realisation of the importance of communicating with the model.

Leave a Reply

