Initial Idea for a Post-Photographic Portrait

"Bonnie" by Marie Hald

“Bonnie” by Marie Hald

I want to tell the story of someone who is transsexual or transgender. My initial idea is to document the daily life of the person and have them tell their story through audio. The photographic works of Marie Hald, who documented the daily life of prostitute Bonnie influenced this idea. Her work is raw, gritty and emotionally charged as is the topic of being transsexual. In order to create my piece I would need to get closer to my subjects and communicate with them more. I currently have two subjects in mind whose story I may tell. I hope to conduct interviews and record the conversations I have with my subjects to help further enhance their story.

Leave a Reply

